Australian Council on Children and the Media

Know Before You Load App Reviews

The Know Before You Load App Review are prepared by child development professionals and provide age suitability and content descriptions for parents and carers.

As a parent or carer you know your child best, and you make decisions for the children in your care. Our reviews are designed to assist you with these decisions.  (Read our full Disclaimer)

With over 1.5 million apps available through app stores, our reviews focus on game style apps and popular apps that may appeal to young children.

If you want more information about social media apps and safety see the Office of the Children's eSafety Commisioner web site.

Technology allows apps to change overnight. ACCM reviews are based on content at the time of the review. If you find something that is different to your experience please let us know.

Quick Links

Children and Gambling Watch List

Videos featuring Dr Kate Highfield discussing technology use and apps with children

Follow our discussions on Facebook

To suggest an app to review or provide your own review on an app.

Parent guides for further information on Children and their use of media.

This service is supported by a grant made by the Attorney-General of South Australia.

Latest App Reviews

app image

Breathe, Think, Do with Sesame - Sesame Workshop

Breathe, Think, Do With Sesame is an educational, skill-based game.
12 June 2016

Age
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15

No gambling content found in the levels played

app image

Juice Jam - SGN

Juice Jam is a three puzzle game
10 June 2016

Age
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15

No gambling content found in the levels played

app image

LEGO DUPLO Train - LEGO Systems Inc

LEGO DUPLO Train is a train building and driving game.
8 June 2016

Age
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15

No gambling content found in the levels played

app image

My Dolphin Show - Spil Games

My Dolphin Show is a dolphin training app for children
8 June 2016

Age
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15

Contains some elements of gambling

app image

Heroes Tactics: War & Strategy - Lilith Games

Heroes Tactics: War & Strategy is a turn based battle app.
5 June 2016

Age
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15

No gambling content found in the levels played

app image

Slither.io - Steve Howse

Slither.io is an online multiplayer game.
31 May 2016

Age
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15

No gambling content found in the levels played

app image

Soul Hunters - Lilith Mobile

Soul Hunters is an RPG gaming app based around card battles.
31 May 2016

Age
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15

No gambling content found in the levels played

app image

Mad libs - Pengin Random House LLC

Mad Libs is a story creation game aimed at children
31 May 2016

Age
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15

No gambling content found in the levels played

App Reviews

Search by:

Alphabetical:

Age suitability:

Platform:

Apple App Store img Google Play img Facebook img

Date added:

Selecting an age will provide a list of apps with content suitable for this age group. Children may also enjoy apps selected via a lower age.

About our colour guide

Content is age appropriate for children this age

Some content may not be appropriate for children this age. Parental guidance recommended

Content is not age appropriate for children this age

Gambling content advice

Simulated casino style gambling. Not suitable for minors

Contains some elements of gambling. Some content is not recommended for minors. Parental guidance recommended

No gambling content found in the levels played

About games and gambling

Most games contain elements of risk, chance and knowledge, that is why they are fun to play. There is growing concern about the impacts of simulated gambling games on the health and wellbeing of children. That's why we are identifying games that contain gambling elements on our site.

The State Government of South Australia's web site http://nogame.com.au/ contains information about these concerns.